Matthew Prass named Best Cricketer at RHTY&SC Academy

first_imgThe curtains came down on the best-ever Cricket Academy of the Rose Hall Town Youth & Sports Club (RHTY&SC) last Friday.More than 120 youths between the ages of eight and 19 attended the two-week Academy at the Area H Ground.Level Three Coach Winston Smith along with national senior player Eon Hooper conducted the Academy along with Pre-Level One Coach Joel Pike. RHTY&SC Assistant Secretary/CEO Simon Naidu served as Director of the Academy, the 28th of its kind to be organised by Guyana’s most dynamic youth and sport organisation.Seventeen-year-old Matthew Prass copped the prestigious Cricketer of the Academy Award, as well as the Most Committed prize, after being selected by the Coaches based on personal discipline, commitment, performance and attendance. Other awardees were Best Batsman –- Jonathan Rampersaud; Best Bowler— Jeremy Sandian; Most Disciplined – Collis Williams; Most Improved – Matthew Pottaya; Best Female – Akeela James and Most Promising – Rampersaud Rampertab.Also claiming awards were Christopher Deroop, Rampertab Ramnauth, Asif Marimuthu and Arif Marimuthu who received special prizes for their hard work. Prizes distributed included trophies, medals, cricket bats, batting gloves and pads, wicket-keeping pads and educational materials.The 2018 Academy, which had the largest number of registration in the Club’s history, and the Coaches were able to identify dozens of promising talents for the Sports Club. This, long-time RHTY&SC Secretary/CEO Hilbert Foster stated, is important as the Club strives to uphold its hard-earned reputation as one of Guyana’s best cricket clubs. Over the years, the Academy has produced six West Indies players, 16 national players, 56 national juniors and 105 Berbice players at all levels. The 2018 Academy was sponsored by funds donated by Club Patron, President David Granger and the Guyana Goldfield Inc. The RHTY&SC, MS, said it would also like to express gratitude to Guyana Beverage Company, Rana Persaud, HA Snacks Co Ltd, S Tulsi, Bello Welding Shop, Nermala Hussain, Stephen Sampson, Ryan Tillack, Mayor Vijai Ramoo and Sunil Marimuthu.last_img read more