‘I am staying at Bayern Munich,’ confirms Guardiola amid rumours of Man City interest

first_img Bayern Munich coach Pep Guardiola Guardiola has rejected recent reports linking him with a Manchester City move this summer, insisting that his future remains at Bayern Munich.Rumours emerging over the weekend claimed the former Barcelona coach had already agreed terms to replace under-fire Manuel Pellegrini at the Etihad Stadium hotseat.German football expert Raphael Honigstein told talkSPORT the reports took Bayern by surprise and, at a news conference held later on Monday afternoon, Guardiola strongly denied he had any plans to leave the German champions.“I have a contract and I will stay here at Bayern,” he said. “That’s all.”Guardiola left Barcelona in the summer of 2012 after winning 14 titles – including two Champions League crowns – in a trophy-laden four-year stint at the helm.The 44-year-old joined Bayern a year later and has led the Munich side to back-to-back Bundesliga titles.But questions over his future at the club arose with Bayern losing 1-0 at home to Augsburg on Saturday to continue a four-match losing run.The German champions host Guardiola’s former club Barca on Tuesday needing to overturn a 3-0 first-leg deficit to reach the Champions League final. 1last_img read more

Desabre names 23 man squad for AFCON

first_imgDesabre will lead the Cranes at AFCON 2019.Uganda Cranes head coach Sébastien Desabre has on Tuesday released the 23 players that will feature at the 2019 AFCON in Egypt.There is not so many changes made by Uganda’s technical team as 14 of the players who played at the previous AFCON finals all return.Team captain Dennis Onyango, the first choice for country returns unscathed among the 23 players.The two other goalkeepers Robert Odongkara and Jamal Salim Omar Magoola, who also were in Gabon, are on the official list to Egypt.The other returning faces include Azam FC’s right back, Nico Wakiro Wadada, Simba’s Murushid Jjuuko, Joseph Ochaya of TP Mazembe, and two unattached entities in Hassan Wasswa Mawanda and Godfrey “Jajja Walu” Walusimbi who will all play at AFCON for the second successive time.The back-line has only three new faces in Ostersunds’ Brian Ronald Ddungu Mukiibi, KCCA’s Timothy Denis Awanya and Yeovil Town’s Bevis Mugabi.In midfield, the returning parties are Montreal Impact’s Mike Azira, William Kizito Luwagga (Shakhter Karagandy, Kazakhstan), Khalid Aucho (Church Hill Brothers, India) and Faruku Miya (HNK Gorica, Croatia).The new midfielders players who did not feature at AFCON 2017 are; Allan Kateregga (Maritzburg, South Africa), Abdul Lumala (Syrianska, Sweden), Tadeo Lwanga (Vipers SC-Uganda).Injury and sickness woes:Moses Waiswa’s knee concerns ruled the Vipers’ play maker out of the tournament.Another injured player left out is forward Alexis David Bbakka who features at Carlstad United in Sweden.KCCA’s Ibrahim Sadam Juma has been dogged by malaria for the previous seven days and sadly fails to make the list plus player Kirizestom Ntambi and Charles Lukwago will also not feature for the cranes.Saddam (right) is one of the 4 players dropped.Uganda Cranes played to a goal-less draw with Asian light weight opposition Turkmenistan at the New York University Stadium.Uganda will play the final build up against Cote D’Ivoire this coming Saturday, 15th June 2019 before flying to Egypt for the biennial continental showpiece.Uganda is housed in group A alongside Hosts Egypt, Democratic Republic of Congo and Zimbabwe.Uganda Cranes final 23 man TeamGoalkeepers: Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Jamal Salim (Al Hilal-Sudan), Robert Odongkara (Adama City, Ethiopia)Defenders: Nico Wakiro Wadada (Azam, Tanzania), Brian Ronald Ddungu Mukiibi (Ostersunds, Sweden), Murushid Jjuuko (Simba, Tanzania), Bevis Mugabi (Yeovil Town, England), Isaac Muleme (FK Viktoria Zizkov, Czech Republic), Hassan Wasswa Mawanda (Un attached), Joseph Ochaya (TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Timothy Denis Awanyi (KCCA FC, Uganda), Godfrey Walusimbi (Un-attached)Midfielders:  Mike Azira (Montreal Impact, Canada), Allan Kateregga (Maritzburg, South Africa), William Kizito Luwagga (Shakhter Karagandy, Kazakhstan), Khalid Aucho (Church Hill Brothers, India), Faruku Miya (HNK Gorica, Croatia), Abdul Lumala (Syrianska, Sweden), Tadeo Lwanga (Vipers SC-Uganda)Strikers: Patrick Henry Kaddu (KCCA FC, Uganda), Derrick Nsibambi (Smouha, Egypt), Allan Kyambadde (KCCA FC Uganda), Emmanuel Arnold Okwi (Simba, Tanzania)Comments Tags: 2019 AFCONSebastien DesabretopUganda Craneslast_img read more